Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

Happy Thanksgiving!

on November 28, 2013

Ah, Thanksgiving. The day that so many Americans pause to reflect on what they are thankful for. Many families have a tradition of going around the table and everyone gives one thing they are thankful for. The answers may vary but usually they are something like a house, friends, family, heating, or the food their about to eat. Now don’t get me wrong, it’s good of us to be thankful for these things, but as believers we have so much more to be thankful for and not just one day out of the year either.

“Let your conversation be without covetousness; and be content with such things as ye have: for he hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.”

Hebrews 13: 5 gives us two good reminders. One is to be content with what we have and not covet (be jealous, want) what others have. The other is in the end of the verse: “for He hath said, I will never leave thee, nor forsake thee.” This is what gives us as believers reason to be content! Because God is always with us and will always provide for our needs, we can be thankful at all times in all circumstances. This can be very difficult, especially when our expectations are not met or say we arrive at a store for a special sale and they’ve sold out (ahem, Black Friday). But we need to have the attitude of Paul in Philippians 4:11-13:

“Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: every where and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need. I can do all things through Christ which strengtheneth me.”

I encourage you to recognize things you are grateful for this Thanksgiving, but also to continue finding one or two things each and every day. I started doing this last year and it put a lot of things in perspective for me. I thing I even wrote a short post back in January about my experience with it (Thankfulness).

Well I guess that’s it for today. It’s good to be back! 🙂

Count Your Many Blessings free printable at { lilluna.com }

~jojo

Leave a Reply

