Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

God is Good – Even on Mondays!!

on October 21, 2013

Ah Monday. Sometimes they just sneak up on ya, ya know?

Today has definitely been one of my worst Mondays. I only have two days of school this week but for some reason they decided to be difficult. I overslept two hours due to my phone dying in the middle of the night leaving me with no alarm. Then my watch started doing crazy things and now it’s off an hour (did I miss daylight savings time?). And to top it off, I spilled my hot cocoa all over myself. Twice.

And so today’s rough start has given me some difficulty in my ability to praise God. I just want to grumble about everything bad that’s happened so far and not even bother with devotions. But I did them and I’ll probably do some more this evening. When I feel the most rotten is when I need to pause and thank God for His awesome grace to me and adore His power. So I thought I’d share some of my devotional thought with you all today.

Praise:

God is our Refuge and Strength.

“God is our refuge and strength, a very present help in trouble. Therefore will not we fear, though the earth be removed, and though the mountains be carried into the midst of the sea; Though the waters thereof roar and be troubled, though the mountains shake with the swelling thereof. Selah. There is a river, the streams whereof shall make glad the city of God, the holy place of the tabernacles of the most High. God is in the midst of her; she shall not be moved: God shall help her, and that right early. The heathen raged, the kingdoms were moved: he uttered his voice, the earth melted. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah. Come, behold the works of the Lord, what desolations he hath made in the earth. He maketh wars to cease unto the end of the earth; he breaketh the bow, and cutteth the spear in sunder; he burneth the chariot in the fire. Be still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, I will be exalted in the earth. The Lord of hosts is with us; the God of Jacob is our refuge. Selah.”  Psalm 46

God is All-Knowing.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord. For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.” Isaiah 55:8-9

“O the depth of the riches both of the wisdom and knowledge of God! how unsearchable are his judgments, and his ways past finding out! For who hath known the mind of the Lord? or who hath been his counsellor? Or who hath first given to him, and it shall be recompensed unto him again? For of him, and through him, and to him, are all things: to whom be glory for ever. Amen.” Romans 11:33-36

Thanksgiving:

For livestreamed church services so even though I am away from home I can participate in my churches service.

Being able to go to college.

Friends that are just a phone call or message away.

Freely being able to read the Bible

My upcoming vacation with my family.

Good health.

Provision for all my needs and more.

Hope of what God has for me in my future.

~jojo

Leave a Reply

