Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

How to NOT gain the Freshman 15!

on August 19, 2013

So I’ve been in orientation for college this weekend! And I’ve decided to share some stuff that I’m learning with you guys so you’re that much smarter.

So first, how not to gain the dreaded Freshman 15:

If your college has a lot of social activities put on by your dorm/residence hall or something like a Student Activities Board (SAB), take advantage of the free food provided. If you see that there’s a bunch of these events close together, skip the dining common and only eat at these activities. Granted, it’s not always healthy food (for example, tonight we’re having pancakes and Yogurtini), but at least it’s not extra calories on top of your basic three meals. Another great aspect of this is you get to meet new people and save money (most events like these are free).

Don’t be tempted by the soda machines in the lobby! And remember, water is free, so keep a bottle handy to fill at drinking fountains.

I know breads and pastas are cheaper, but they’re not all that great for you. Instead, make sure you’re getting lots of protein, especially if you have a big campus to walk. Veggies are great too, so don’t forget your greens! When staying up at night to finish a report, make sure you’re not just junking out with chips and such (I have a jar of crunchy peanut butter in my room for those nights).

Try and workout at least every other day. Many colleges have gyms that are opened 24 hours or at least late into the night. Even if you’re tired, get moving with jumping jacks, sprints, stairs (I’m sure there’s LOTS of those around campus), or check out the weight room.

Now obviously, I’ve only been here a few days, but this is some stuff older students have told me and also some of my regular diet plans. Don’t judge me, my degree’s not for nutrition!

Of course, make sure you get plenty of sleep and be alert when that 8 a.m. lecture starts!

~jojo

Leave a Reply

