Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

Am I Turning into a Hipster?!?!?!

on June 8, 2013

First off, I’m sorry I haven’t been keeping up with the blog lately do here’s a quick update:

• Graduated from high school May 25

• Interviewed at Avila University May 28

• Started an office job (sales admin./ administrative assistant) May 29

•Interviewed at Rockhurst June 7

So that’s about it, on with the post!

Last night I was trying to decide which smartphone I should buy (I currently have an orange  flip phone) and I thought to myself “If you’re gonna have a smart phone, you’d better get an account on Instagram since that’s what all the cool people do.” Well I took our family ipod and downloaded Instagram and set up an account. I took a profile pic or two and followed a few people I knew and left it. This morning I started thinking about my social media past: I joined Facebook in November of 2011, so I haven’t been on it very long; then I started this blog at the beginning of this year; joined Twitter and flickr in March and then just joined Instagram yesterday. So I’m finally “with it.” Speaking of “with it,” I began thinking  about other things that I’ve done for a long time and that are just now becoming cool. Wait a minute, that sounds like something hipsters say…

So I took a few minutes to see what the good old internet says about hipsters:

1. hip·ster – A person who follows the latest trends and fashions.

uhoh, not looking good..

When I looked around elsewhere (Pinterest, etc.) I found this phrase coming up again and again “…before it was cool…” Like “I read that book before it was cool.” Now this applies directly to me. I remember being made fun of because I read books all the time. I read nearly every classic book by the time I was in 6th grade (I didn’t go to preschool but was reading young adult level books by 1st grade and read Ben Hur in 5th grade) and almost completely ran out of stuff to read by 9th grade because I don’t like romance novels. Anyways, now I see people who used to make fun of me reading stuff like Inkheart  and Les Misérables. Granted, it’s probably because of the movies, but still, it’s interesting how that suddenly became “cool.”

I looked at hipster on Urban Dictionary (which I don’t really recomend) but I kept finding phrases like “Hipsters reject the culturally-ignorant attitudes of mainstream consumers, and are often be seen wearing vintage and thrift store inspired fashions, tight-fitting jeans, old-school sneakers, and sometimes thick rimmed glasses.” (Thrift store? Check. Old-school sneakers? Check. Thick rimmed glasses? Check.) And “Despite misconceptions based on their aesthetic tastes, hipsters tend to be well educated and often have liberal arts degrees, or degrees in maths and sciences, which also require certain creative analytical thinking abilities. Consequently many hipsters tend to have jobs in the music, art, and fashion industries.” (Whelp, that is what I’m planning on…)

This is probably the biggest thing though: “many bands have become successful and known to mainstream audiences only because hipsters first found and listened to them as early-adopters of new culture.” For years I listened to several unknown music groups that have recently become very popular, some releasing their first CDs this year. Whereas before I never got a chance to talk much about them before, it seems everyone’s heard them now and they’re the favorite group of many of my friends. It’s been really cool watching their popularity grow until they’re almost world-famous. This though, is where my connection with hipster culture breaks.

The above phrase goes on to say “Once certain concepts of fashion and music have reached mainstream audiences, hipsters move on to something new and improved.” I get excited more people do what I’ve been doing. It just seems snobbish of me to suddenly stop liking something when everyone else starts liking it. Guess that means I’m not a hipster. Phew!

Leave a Reply

