Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

me…stress! :)

on February 4, 2013

So I finally got behind on one of my weekly posts! Yikes! I knew it would happen, but I had hoped it wouldn’t be so soon.

Well, I figured since this is my blog I’d tell you a little about what’s been going on with me. What better time to tell you than now, right?

It’s kinda humourous, actually…

Well, I’ve been thinking that maybe this whole blog thing isn’t such a good idea right now. I’ve been swamped with school projects and just life in general. Today I finally turned in a history project that I’ve been working on since last May. It was a hand-sewn quilt based off my great-great-great-great-great-grandmother’s quilt my grandma currently owns. It was a bear paw pattern and I figured it out myself using trigonometry! I knew those math classes would be good for something! Anyways, the project kinda degenerated from a 12-square quilt to a 4-square wall hanging. I actually did complete four squares, but lost one and messed up another. So here I am with two squares. I put a ”frame” of cloth around them and sewed it on the sewing machine. That would be faster, right? No. Turns out my sewing machine needs some help. My hand-sewn stitches were straighter and more even than that stupid machine.

I tried to move on to the paper part of my project but it kinda went like this:

Quilts are an American tradition. I am a failure. A quilt is a sandwich of fabric-batting-fabric. Nothing goes right. Often women would make quilts from scraps of fabric and piece them together by the fire as a means of relaxation or respite from their tiresome frontier life. Good-bye world.

Yeah. I took the sampler quilt over to my grandma’s and fixed it yesterday and then got up early this morning to retype the paper. I actually turned out quite well, all things considered.

Well, doing all those stitches had taken up every spare moment of my time for months, but now I’m focusing on my Senior Thesis. As much as I enjoy reading, all my “leisure reading” time is now taken up reading less-exciting research books and taking notes for this HUGE paper! I’m comparing C.S. Lewis and J.R.R. Tolkien, two of my favorite British authors.  This has been in the works for a little over a month.

Well with all the stress I’ve had from regular school work, projects, keeping my house relatively clean, getting my license,  getting a job, filling out scholarships, and trying to figure out what to do with my life, it’s a miracle I’ve kept up as much as I have with blogging, if you can call it that. I’m considering inviting my super-smart friend I’ve mentioned before to be a co-admin. Hmm…

Well, now a little fact about me:

When I’m stressed I …

…don’t eat

…watch Pride&Prejudice (1995) — I LOVE Colin Firth

…get on Pinterest

or

…freak out!

Hope you all have a marvelous morning/afternoon/evening/night/whenever!

2 responses to “me…stress! :)

  1. Jecka says:

    wait! what super-smart friend? do I know him/her?

Leave a Reply

