Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

Think on These Things…

on February 2, 2013

So I have a Pinterest account (who doesn’t nowadays?) and my board with all my verses or biblical quotes or hymns on it is called “Think On These Things.” Anyways, I noticed that several pins on it are quoting stuff that makes me feel good. Like about how God knows me and other “sweet” or “feel-good” verses. It got me to thinking: Why do we always tend to meditate on these verses that tell us how great we are and not how great our God is?

Well, first off, they really don’t, it’s just that they are often taken out of context and therefore seem that way (at least to me). Everything in the Bible is there for the ultimate purpose of glorifying God.  Second, we are commanded to think on good things in Philipians 4:8 “Finally, brethren, whatsoever things are true, whatsoever things are honest, whatsoever things are just, whatsoever things are pure, whatsoever things are lovely, whatsoever things are of good report; if there be any virtue, and if there be any praise, think on these things.” I asked my smart friend what she thought and this is what she had to say:

“First of all, all scripture is given by inspiration of God. So meditating on scripture is a good thing no matter what verse it is, as long as you aren’t proof-texting it, or manipulating it. I also believe that those “feel good verses” have their place in our thoughts, and can be an encouragement when we feel lonely or discouraged. However, I do agree that many people spend too much time on the “sweet verses” and have a tendency to forget that God doesn’t only love them and think about them, but that he loves them enough to bring the trial, and to correct us and to teach us lessons. Personally, most of the time the verses I choose to meditate on have something to do with what God is teaching me, a new verse I’m learning, or an old one that I’m thinking about in a new way. Today in Bible class I heard a great thought that I had never thought about before. He said that when we read Phil 4:8 and all of the “whatsoevers,” there is really one thing that fits all of those categories and that is the Word of God. So summarizing I think that there is a place for the feel good verses, just so long as you don’t forget about the Scriptures as a whole and focus just on what makes you happy instead of focusing on the truth.”

I still think it’s pretty amazing that the God who made the universe just by speaking cares for me personally. But I will be focusing on glorifying Him more throughout my days. This is kinda where I was coming from in my Life Verse post, I just didn’t know what exactly it would come to. 🙂

What Scriptures do you like to meditate on? I’d love to hear from you! (Hint, hint, I feel like no one reads this blog!)

Leave a Reply

