Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

What is a Life Verse?

on January 14, 2013

This is a question I often used to ask myself. What is a “life verse”?

People were always asking me what my life verse was and I felt horrible for not immediately quoting some Scripture reference back to them. Two or three years ago I needed to choose one for some reason or another so I decided to find a verse that described how I felt about my life. I ended up choosing Romans 8:26. “Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.” Well about a month later (when the verse was shown to a bunch of people), I felt dumb because the importance of that verse to me had changed since I first chose it.

Since then, I have had four or five “life verses” that changed in meaning for me. I had chosen them at a time when I was going through a trial and they had given me comfort, but when that trial was over, it just wasn’t the same. Having a life verse isn’t actually a Biblical thing. It’s something we as Christian made up ourselves. I had been worried I wasn’t truly saved just because I didn’t know my life verse. What an awful way to live! This year, I was put in a similar situation and had to give my life verse. I decided to think and pray about my decision and here is what I came up with:

Ecclesiastes 12:13 says, “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter: Fear God, and keep his commandments: for this is the whole duty of man.” So here I saw what my life should be about. Fearing (honoring) God and obeying Him. Next I looked to Colossians 3:17 “And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.” and 1 Corinthians 10:31 “Whether therefore ye eat, or drink, or whatsoever ye do, do all to the glory of God.” So everything we do is to ultimately glorify and honor God. Finally, I took my talent of music and researched it. Psalm 100 says “Make a joyful noise unto the Lord, all ye lands.

 Serve the Lord with gladness: come before his presence with singing.

 Know ye that the Lord he is God: it is he that hath made us, and not we ourselves; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

 Enter into his gates with thanksgiving, and into his courts with praise: be thankful unto him, and bless his name.

 For the Lord is good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to all generations.” And then Colossians 3 again, but verse 16. “ Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom; teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord.”

As I looked up and researched these verses, I realized all my other “life verses” were just verses for that part of my journey. I probably will end up claiming them again for future battles, but when it comes to describing my purpose here and just basically summing up my whole life, Ecclesiastes 12:13, Psalm 100, 1 Corinthians 10:31, and (especially) Colossians 3:16-17 do pretty well!

I hope this post has been of some help to you! What is your life verse? I’d love to hear about it and how you came to it as well as your opinion of this post!

3 responses to “What is a Life Verse?

  1. Shelly says:

    My life verse is 2 Corinthians 4:13-14
    It is written: “I believed; therefore I have spoken.”With that same spirit of faith we also believe and therefore speak, 14 because we know that the one who raised the Lord Jesus from the dead will also raise us with Jesus and present us with you in his presence.

    I chose this verse because ever since becoming a believer at 29, my life was drastically changed. My belief in Jesus is something I feel compelled to share with others; I believe, therefore I speak.

    Blessings!

    • crusader1240 says:

      Amen, Shelly! We serve an awesome God! I love how this verse shows we are to spread the good news of Christ with others. Since He has redeemed us, we need to share that redemption with others.

  2. […] be focusing on glorifying Him more throughout my days. This is kinda where I was coming from in my Life Verse post, I just didn’t know what exactly it would come […]

Leave a Reply

