Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

The Family of God

on January 6, 2013

I recently was invited via Facebook to join a Bible study called P-31 Challenge. It’s co-led by a old friend of mine I haven’t seen in years. Anyway, today was day 5 and as I read the challenge for the day, I marveled to myself how amazing it was that I was involved in a Bible study with 50+ other women who love and want to serve God and I’ve only met one of them! That brought up the song “The Family of God” by Bill Gaither:

You will notice we say “brother and sister” ’round here,

It’s be-cause we’re a family and these are so near;

When one has a heartache, we all share the tears,

And re-joice in each victory in this family so dear.

From the door of an orphanage to the house of the King,

No longer an outcast, a new song I sing;

From rags unto riches, from the weak to the strong,

I’m not worthy to be here, but Praise God! I belong!

I’m so glad I’m a part of the family of God-

I’ve been washed in the fountain, cleansed by His blood!

Joint heirs with Jesus as we travel this sod;

For I’m part of the family, the family of God.

Interesting how this morning I noticed the best things of the family and this evening noticed the worst things.

This evening, I was reading a printout of a conversation I had seen on Facebook. It was a bunch of people who used to attend the Christian school our church runs. It was a sad thing for me to see, because many of the adults who attended over twenty years ago still are bitter about their experience there. They seem to spend their time in doing nothing else but tearing down the teachers and staff, several of whom have taught there for over 30 years. I believe every teacher that chooses to teach in a Private school must care at least something for the students, I mean, it’s not like they’re there for the money!

Anyway, these people continued to point fingers and call others hypocrites. I found it interesting that they seem to spend all their time judging people by what they see, but demand that others judge them by their intentions and what is going on in their heart! Then they quote I Samuel 16:7b: “… for the LORD sees not as man sees; for man looks on the outward appearance, but the LORD looks on the heart.”

I just want to scream, “Exactly! We are not God. We do not know the hearts of others. We should live our lives in such a way that others cannot question our relationship with God, but also not be quick to judge!” Sometimes I think that is the root of all our problems. We never find the moderation of two things that must happen: justice and mercy. Again I am pointed back to God, who has given us grace and mercy by allowing us to be forgiven of our sins and allowing us into His kingdom, but also judges sin as it should be.

There is so much more I could write, so many ways I could refine this post. I am afraid to let all my emotions on this heartbreaking situation influence me from presenting my God and His Word as it is. I think I had better just leave it at this for now. ♥

Leave a Reply

