Random Ramblings

Just a few of my thoughts on the world around me

Thankfulness

on January 4, 2013

Back in November I thought to myself, “Why does everyone teach and preach thankfulness only around Thanksgiving?” It seemed pretty dumb to me so I decided to do something about it. Starting about a week before Thanksgiving, I began listing at least one thing a day I was thankful for when I did my devotions. It could be anything from things I had to the abilities I’ve been given that can cause stressful situations instead of complaining about the stress. One day, a dear friend with whom I had shared a burden  asked me how I was doing. I found myself so busy giving thanks, I forgot to complain or dwell on the problem! I began just handing my problems over to God and letting Him deal with it. Now it’s January and I’m still  going with this thankfulness study. I encouraged my Sunday School class and now I want to encourage you to do the same. Here are some verses I’ve been meditating on as I do this as well:

Lamentations 3:22-23

It is of the Lord’s mercies that we are not consumed, because His compassions fail not. They are new every morning: great is Thy faithfulness!

I Timothy 6:6-8

But godliness with contentment is great gain. For we brought nothing into this world, and it is certain we can carry nothing out. And having food and rainment, let us therewith be content.

I Thessalonians 5:16-18

Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In everything give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.

Philippians 4:11-12

Not that I speak in respect of want: for I have learned, in whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content. I know both how to be abased, and I know how to abound: everywhere and in all things I am instructed both to be full and to be hungry, both to abound and to suffer need.

Please feel free to comment. I’d love to get to know you all! ♥

One response to “Thankfulness

  1. […] I encourage you to recognize things you are grateful for this Thanksgiving, but also to continue finding one or two things each and every day. I started doing this last year and it put a lot of things in perspective for me. I thing I even wrote a short post back in January about my experience with it (Thankfulness). […]

Leave a Reply

